[an error occurred while processing this directive]

FFXIV Primals – Full Guide to FFXIV’s Boss Creatures

FFXIV Primals

Like most other Final Fantasy games to date, FFXIV: A Realm Reborn includes Primals. For those that don’t already know, the Primals are powerful, magical creatures that are worshiped and summoned by the beast tribes. Each beast tribe has its own Primal that it can summon. Most Primals are the equivalent of a summon found in one of the Final Fantasy games.

Right now there are a total of 9 different Primals in FFXIV: ARR. These are:

  • Bahamut
  • Garuda
  • Good King Moggle Mog XII
  • Ifrit
  • Leviathan
  • Odin
  • Ramuh
  • Shiva
  • Titan

Each Primal is met in battle by players as a boss fight. Each one is fought during specific quests and at different player levels throughout the game. Below is a summary of each Primal that includes more details.

Learn how to tame any Primal with ease, how to hit the level cap in record time, how to get the strongest gear in the game, and much more by checking out this awesome FFXIV: ARR guide its guaranteed to make you a top player in no time at all!


Bahamut is the Primal of the Dragons. He is also often considered the most powerful summon of all. Bahamut used to be held captive in Dalamund but managed to break free. The gods of Eorzea, The Twelve, and the Circle of Knowing all try to recapture the beast but before being able to finish the spell that would bind the elder dragon to its prison Bahamut broke away.

Not a lot is known about what part Bahamut will play in A Realm Reborn but it has been confirmed that he will play a role in an end-game raid named The Labyrinth of Bahamut which will be a difficult raid that will support up to 24 players.


Garuda is worshiped and summoned by the Ixal beastmen. She is known as the queen of storms and the empress of birds. She is fought during a boss battle by players at least 2 times during the game. The first fight is for level 40 players while the second is geared toward level 50 players (both require parties).

The quests that yo encounter Garuda in are named In for Garudas Wakening (around level 40) and Taming the Tempest (around level 50). The 2nd battle is more difficult and will require players to manage survivability well.

Good King Moggle Mog XII

Good King Moggle Mog XII is the Primal of the Moogles. Players fight against him in a boss battle given to players that around level 50 during a quest named A Feast of Fool. During the fight players will have to kill seven different Moogles then finally the King to complete the battle. Each Moogle has its own class and unique abilities. As they are killed off King Moggle Mog inherits their abilities.

Killing the Good King also unlocks an achievement called Most Adorable Death Ever.


Ifrit is the Primal of the Amaljaa beastmen. He is known as the primal of fire and is found within the deserts of Thanalan. He is also fought by players in a boss battle during 2 quests. The first quest Ifrit is encountered in is It Kills with Fire (designed for players around level 25) and the second is Ifrit Bleeds, We Can Kill It (designed for players level 50 and above).

Ifrit is a level 58 boss with 32,767 health. A party of high level players with decent gear can make quick work of this boss fight, even during the harder 2nd quest. Next up in our guide to FFXIV primals is Leviathan.


Leviathan is a huge, legendary serpent that is the primal of the Sahagin, which are vile, turtle-like creatures. There isn’t a ton of information about this Primal just yet but well update the page to include more facts such as his origins and game appearances as soon as possible!


Odin is a rather unique Primal in FFXIV: A Realm Reborn due to the fact that he will be a free-roaming boss. Right now there isnt any info on whether or not he is summoned by a beast tribe, either.

The one thing that has been leaked is that Odin will be on a rotation where every time he is defeated he comes back stronger than before and will provide even better loot drops. Odin has been a primal that has appeared in many of the Final Fantasy games.

We will also update Odins summary to include facts about his origins, whereabouts, in-game appearances, and more once we have the information.


Ramuh is the primal of the Sylphs. He is a powerful sage that is able to harness the power of lightning to strike down any foe that may cross his path. As with several other Primals full details about Ramuh are still up in the air. We do know that he will be found in the forests of The Black Shroud region. As soon as we have the info we will provide more information about his origins, in-game appearances, and more on this page.


Shiva is the empress of ice and has been confirmed as a character that will appear as a Primal in FFXIV: ARR. Right now there is no information about which beast tribe she is associated with, where she will appear in-game, or other facts. Once this information is released and/or discovered we will update her description.


Titan is the massive primal of the Kobold. He is huge, uses a lot of ground based attacks that push and pull players, and calls the plains of La Noscea his home. He can mainly be found in the Waking Sands area.


This page isn’t fully complete but well fill in the missing details as soon as possible! Also, we will be writing up detailed guides to each of the Primal boss fights to provide tips and strategies to players in the next week or so.

Thanks for reading the information we have on the FFXIV primals so far.

Learn how to tame any Primal with ease, how to hit the level cap in record time, how to get the strongest gear in the game, and much more by checking out this awesome FFXIV: ARR guide – its guaranteed to make you a top player in no time at all!

[an error occurred while processing this directive]