[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Defiance EGO Leveling Guide: How to Reach the EGO Level Cap FAST

In Defiance the main thing that sets you apart as being a seasoned player is your EGO rating. Now, this isn’t really a skill indicator but it shows the time, dedication, blood, sweat and tears that you’ve put into the game. You can raise this number a few different ways such as completing quests, exploring the world, leveling up weapons, and completing pursuits. But right now there IS a level cap.

Defiance EGO Leveling Guide

What’s the EGO Level Cap?

Until the DLC for Defiance starts to be released (which will more than likely come when future seasons of the show are on), the EGO cap for right now is about 5000.

Now, it IS possible to reach this rating in a reasonable amount of time. But it does involve doing a TON of stuff to grind your way up. In order to accomplish this you’ll have to complete all of the season 1 pursuits, max out the level of every weapon type, and also max out your perks and powers levels, too.

Here’s a breakdown of EVERYTHING you need to complete to obtain the highest EGO rating available at this time:


Defiance Completing Pursuits

There are a total of 104 pursuits that players can complete for season 1 of Defiance. The details of each one can be found going into your menu and looking at the “goals” tab. This lists every one of the pursuits along with the requirements to complete it. For each pursuit you finish, you’ll receive a few points that go toward your overall EGO rating.

Here’s an analysis of how many points you’ll get for finishing each section:

Mount Tam – 65 points

Madera – 65 points

Marin – 70 points

Sausalito – 65 points

San Francisco – 65 points

Co-Op – 105 points

Arkfalls – 60 points

Enemy Types – 30 points

Competitive Matchmaking – 180 points

EGO Evolution – 95 points

Combat Goals – 180 points

Vehicle Goals – 100 points

Building Reputation – 80 points

Social Goals – 40 points

So, to summarize, if you manage to complete ALL of the pursuits in each of the categories listed above your player will have about a 1200 EGO rating. That’s a pretty hefty chunk of the level cap right there. These will generally take quite a bit of time to complete because each one has anywhere between 5-10 goals each.

The best way to power through them all is to plan it out. And be sure to start with Mount Tam and progress as you progress through the game. Most of the map-specific goals can be completed naturally through the storyline missions.

Weapon Leveling

Defiance Weapon Leveling

In total, there are 14 different weapon types found in Defiance including:

  • Assault Rifles
  • Bio-Magnetic Guns
  • Bolt Action Snipers
  • Charge Snipers
  • Manual Snipers
  • Grenade Launchers
  • Grenades
  • Rocket Launchers
  • Guided Rocket Launchers
  • Infectors
  • Light Machine Guns
  • Pistols
  • Shotguns
  • Pump Shotguns

For each weapon category there is a leveling system. The more you use a specific weapon type, the more experience you earn for it which causes the overall weapon level to go up. There are a total of 20 levels for weapons. Each time you go up a level you will earn 4 points for your EGO rating.

This means for every weapon type in the game you can earn a total of 76 EGO points (4 points per level, 19 total levels per weapon category). Overall you can earn just about 1000 EGO rating for weapon leveling.

Get the ultimate Ark Hunter’s bible – the Defiance Guru Strategy Guide – and learn how to level up fast, earn tons of Scrip using simple methods, and how to put together the perfect EGO build to destroy enemies in both PvE and competitive multiplayer!

EGO Perks & Powers

Defiance EGO Powers & Perks Leveling

On top of completing pursuits and leveling up the many different weapons in the game you can also earn more EGO rating points by leveling your EGO perks and powers.

The primary EGO Powers are:

  • Blur
  • Cloak
  • Decoy
  • Overcharge

Each power has 5 different levels. You earn a few EGO points each time you level the powers. You also earn boosts to the actual power (we’ll discuss that in another article, though).

Perks, on the other hands, are quite numerous. In total there are about 70 different EGO perks players can use. These include things like Scavenger, Blast Shield, and Ammo Thief. There are only 3 levels per perk but that means players can earn a total of just over 200 EGO rating for maxing out all of them.

How to Level EGO Fast

In conclusion, you’ll want to spend most of your time focusing on completing the Defiance pursuits to raise your EGO rating quick. But as you’re completing those you can simultaneously be swapping out different weapons, powers and perks on your EGO build to earn points for leveling all of those, too.

As we mentioned above, plan ahead. Map out where you need to go to discover the new locations for the exploration parts of the pursuits, find out where all the different enemy types congregate so you know EXACTLY where to go to kill certain enemies, and keep an eye on your weapons. If you see that you’ve maxed out one weapon type, immediately swap to another to continue the leveling process to earn those points.

Get the ultimate Ark Hunter’s bible – the Defiance Guru Strategy Guide – and learn how to level up fast, earn tons of Scrip using simple methods, and how to put together the perfect EGO build to destroy enemies in both PvE and competitive multiplayer!

[an error occurred while processing this directive]